Loading Events

The 2018 Edwin Booth Award: Young Jean Lee

« Back to Events
This event has passed.
Mar 23, 2018
Mar 23, 2018
Segal Theatre

Photo by Blaine Davis

****Due to winter storm forecast, the evening has been rescheduled to Friday, March 23****
Friday, March 23
Segal Theatre
6:30pm Award Ceremony

FREE + Open to public. First come, first served.

The Doctoral Theatre Students’ Association presents the 2018 Edwin Booth Award to New York writer, director, and filmmaker Young Jean Lee. The Edwin Booth Award is given annually by the Doctoral Theatre Students’ Association to honor a person, organization, or company for their outstanding contribution to the NYC theatre community, and to promote integration of professional and academic theatre.

Young Jean Lee has written and directed ten shows in New York. Her short films have been presented at The Locarno International Film Festival, Sundance Film Festival, and BAMcinemaFest. Young Jean Lee’s Theater Company has toured her work to over thirty cities around the world. Named as “the most adventurous downtown playwright of her generation” by The New York Times, Lee has received two OBIE Awards, a Prize in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, a PEN Literary Award, a Doris Duke Performing Artist Award, among numerous other fellowships. A presentation workshop of Songs of the Dragons Flying to Heaven was first shown at PRELUDE 2005.

The award ceremony features an interview with Young Jean Lee by Chloë Rae Edmonson; speeches and performance by Doctoral Students Jessica Adam, Kyueun Kim, Ash Marinaccio, Nina Angela Mercer, Hansol Oh, Alison Walls, and Jennie Youssef; as well as a special performance by Diana Oh and Matt Park.

Presented in collaboration with the DTSA Second Vice President Hansol Oh, with additional support from Sidney E. Cohn Chair Distinguished Professor Marvin Carlson, Vera Mowry Roberts Chair Distinguished Professor David Savran, Lucille Lortel Chair Professor Jean Graham-Jones, and the Martin E. Segal Theatre Center.

Past Honorees:

2017 – Taylor Mac
2016 – Reverend Billy and the Stop Shopping Choir
2015 – María Irene Fornés
2014 – Elevator Repair Service
2013 – Woodie King Jr.
2012 – Split Britches
2011 – Stephen Sondheim
2010 – Charles Mee
2009 – Judith Malina
2008 – Karen Finley
2007 – Mabou Mines
2006 – HERE Arts Center
2005 – Paula Vogel
2004 – The Classical Theatre of Harlem
2003 – The New York Theatre Workshop
2002 – Tony Kushner
2001 – Anne Bogart and The S.I.T.I. Company
2000 – Performance Space 122
1999 – Dixon Place
1998 – Hal Prince
1997 – Richard Foreman
1996 – The Brooklyn Academy of Music
1995 – Anne Hamburger and En Garde Arts
1994 – JoAnne Akalaitis
1993 – The Wooster Group
1992 – Arthur Miller
1991 – Al Hirschfeld
1990 – Robert Whitehead
1989 – Joseph Papp and the New York Shakespeare Festival
1988 – The Ridiculous Theatrical Company
1987 – Joseph Chaiken
1986 – Stanley Kauffmann
1985 – The Negro Ensemble Company
1984 – Ellen Stewart
1983 – The Royal Shakespeare Company